National Flag of India

The National Flag of India

National Flag of India

Official National Flag of India

Details information and History Flag Of India: The National Flag of India was adopted on July 22, 1947 at the meeting of the Constituent Assembly. The constitution of India lays down strict rules and guidelines that need to be followed when using or displaying the flag. It was adopted in its present form during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly, when it became the official flag of the Dominion of India.

Official Name Color Size and Other Information About National Flag of India

Name Tiraṅgā (English meaning “Tricolour”)
Use National flag
Proportion 3:2
Adopted 22 July 1947
Design A horizontal triband of India saffron, white, and India green; charged with a navy blue wheel with 24 spokes in the centre
Color Reference  Saffron, White, Green and Blue Wheel
Design By Pingali Venkayya


Sizes of the National Flag
Length and width (mm) Size of Ashoka Chakra (mm)
6300 × 4200 1295
3600 × 2400 740
2700 × 1800 555
1800 × 1200 370
1350 × 900 280
900 × 600 185
450 × 300 90
225 × 150 40
150 × 100 25

Source :

The National Flag of India is a horizontal rectangular tricolour of deep saffron, white and India green; with the Ashoka Chakra, a 24-spoke wheel, in navy blue at its center. In India, the term “tricolour” (Hindi: तिरंगा, Tiraṅgā) almost always refers to the Indian national flag.

The National Flag of India Designed by Pingali Venkayya. The national Flag of India is a horizontal tricolor featuring three equal horizontal bands of saffron (top), white (middle), and green (bottom) and a Blue Wheel in the Middle of White stripe. The middle stripe of the flag features the national emblem, that is, a blue spinning wheel, the “Ashoka Chakra “.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *